top of page



1.1.   Malayan Table Tennis Association (MTTA) was formed in 1952 and officially registered in 1958 with Selangor, Perak and Penang as members. The first President was Mr. Lum Mum Chak from Selangor and the Hon. Secretary was Mr. Chua Guan Lee from Penang.


1.2.   Table Tennis Association of Malaysia (TTAM) was formed in 1964 together with Singapore.


1.3.   The first Hon. Secretary of TTAM  was Mr. Tang Tuck Wah from Singapore and the first President was Mr. Tay Boon Seng from Malacca.


1.4.   Singapore withdrew in 1965.  Mr. Tay Boon Seng remained as the President until 1967 when the late Mr. Khor Kai Boo became the President. Dato' Michael Cheng Wing Sum became the President in 1972 until 1990 when Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy took over as the President in 1991 until 2008.  In 2009 Dato' Tang See Hang became the President until 2013. Tan Sri Dato' Koo Yuen Kim JP became President in 2014 until 2020. Dato' Sri Tee Lip Sin became President in July 2020 until now.


1.5.   From 1965 to 1977, Mr. Khor Teck Hooi was the Hon. Secretary.  Mr. Yap Yong Yih became the Hon. Secretary in 1978 until his demise in 1999.  Mr. Chan Foong Keong took over as Hon. Secretary in 2000 until 2018. Mr. Yeoh Lip Khoon became the Hon. Secretary in June 2018 until now.


2.1.   Malaysia was a member of the Table Tennis Federation of Asia (TTFA) until 1971.


2.2.   In 1972, the Asian Table Tennis Union (ATTU) was formed to replace the TTFA and Malaysia became a member of ATTU with our then President, Dato' Michael Chen Wing Sum as one of the Vice-Presidents.


2.3.   TTAM President has since been a Vice-President of the Asian Table Tennis Union until 2010.



2.4.   Malaysia together with Vietnam and Thailand were the founder members for the formation of the South East Asian Table Tennis Association in 1998 Tan Sri Dato' Cha Kong Choy as the President and the late Mr. Yap Yong Yih as the Secretary General. Mr. Chan Foong Keong became the Secretary General in 2000 until 2016. 


3.1.   Malaysia had participated in all the Asian Championships organised under ATTF and ATTU


3.2.   Malaysia participated in the World Table Tennis Championships for the first time in 1971 at the 31st World Table Tennis Championships held in Nagoya, Japan



4.1.   The first international table tennis tournament held in Malaysia was the 1965 3rd SEAP Games  in Kuala Lumpur.


4.2.   Subsequently, Malaysia had organised many international table tennis tournaments and championships as follows:-

4.2.1. South East Asian Penisular Games1965, 1971

4.2.2.  South East Asian Games1977, 1989, 2001

4.2.3.  Asian Table Tennis Championships1978, 1990

4.2.4.  Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships1983, 2004

4.2.5.  ITTF World Cup1981, 1984, 1991

4.2.6.  ITTF Pro-Tour Malaysia Open1998, 2003

4.2.7.  Euro-Asia Tournament1989

4.2.8.  World Table Tennis Team Championships2000

4.2.9.  South East Asian Table Tennis Championships2000

4.2.10.  5th ASP Para Table Tennis Championships2005

4.2.11.  9th FESFIC Para Games2006

4.2.12.  South East Asian Junior Table Tennis Championships1993, 1996, 2001, 2008, 2015

4.2.13.  ITTF World All Stars Vs China2007 (Pre 2008 Beijing Olympic Games Table Tennis Test Event)

4.2.14.  ITTF Women's World Cup2008

4.2.15.  ASEAN Para Games2001, 2009

4.2.16.  ITTF Women's World Cup2010

4.2.17.  3rd Asian Youth Para Games2013

4.2.18.  21st. South East Asian Junior & Cadet TT Championships 2015

4.2.19.  21st. Asian Junior & Cadet TT Championships 2015

4.2.20.  54th World Team Table Tennis Championships 2016


4.3.   The most significant world event organised by Malaysia was the 45th World Team Table Tennis Championships in 2000 were the first country in South East Asia to organise the prestigious world table tennis championships.


4.4.   Malaysia once again host to the Perfect 2016 World Team Table Tennis Championships.

bottom of page